Hi, I'm Smokey

German Shepherd Dog | Adult | Male | Large

Share  |   Facebooktwittergoogle_pluspinterest

About Me

smokey-a smokey-b smokey-cWe don’t know what Smokey’s life was like before he was surrendered to the shelter, but it’s safe to assume he learned to appreciate affection. He loves having his head and tummy scratched, and wants to be where the family is. He’s smart and sweet. He’s a bit shy with new people, but is easy to win over, especially if cheese is involved.

A tennis ball is his current favorite toy, and he actually brings it back if you throw it, although he doesn’t always drop it. He enjoys playing with his foster brother and is interested in meeting other dogs.

He’s a bit of an escape artist, having figured out how to open his crate, and open trash baskets have a special appeal. But other than that, Smokey is a perfect house guest. Invite him to be part of your house!


My Profile

  • Age and weight: I'm 7 years old, and weigh 65 pounds. But I don't look it!
  • Good with kids: Yes
  • Good with other dogs: Yes.
  • Good with cats: Unsure
  • Fenced yard: Required.
  • Suitable for townhouse and/or apartment: I could live in a townhouse, but not an apartment.
  • House trained: Yes.
  • Crate trained: No
  • Barks when left alone: No.
  • Chews inappropriate items: No
  • Training: I am working on the basic commands: sit, stay, come, down.
  • Activity level: Moderate

Meet Me

If you are interested in Smokey, consider letting us know by filling out a (no obligation) adoption application. Please consult our Adoption FAQ before contacting us.

NOTE: We are an all volunteer group and do not operate a shelter. All of our animals are in foster homes. We are unable to place our animals outside of the Baltimore/DC area.

Smokey is expecting to attend the next adoption show, March 25th at the Bowie PetSmart, although there's always a possibility that plans will need to change at the last minute.