Hi, I'm Turtle. I’m adopted!

Pointer | Adult | Male | Large

Share  |   Facebooktwitterpinterest

About Me

Turtle was adopted September of 2020!

Greetings, my name is Turtle (aka Turtle Whurtle). I am a pretty active outdoor dog and I am just learning about the inside world with my foster mom. I love to explore, chase balls and play with friends at the dogpark – both big and small. Leashes and walks are new for me so I am still learning not to pull. I do not mind being left home while you are at work as long as I have some yard time to run around before and afterwards. My favorite part of the day is when you get home.

My foster mom has given me plenty of fun toys to chew on so I do not feel the need to chew on her toys. I am not too particular about my food and do not even mind if you there is some medication in my food bowl. Treats are nice but not a huge motivator for training. On the other hand I LOVE human food and I will beg with my big adorable puppy eyes (it has yet to work on my foster mom, she is a tough cookie to get human food from).

I love affection and cuddling but do not require it all the time. I am happy to go lay in my crate, on my doggy bed or even on the couch. Noises are not a huge bother to me and I only bark if it is important which is not very often. The only noise that makes me really scared is thunder. When I hear thunder I try to find a safe, cozy, dark place to curl up in.

I’m heartworm positive and will still need to undergo treatment. PGSPCA will cover the costs if you’re willing to bring me back to their vet for the treatment. Once treatment starts, I will need to be kept quiet for about 8 weeks and then should be good to go!

I am looking for a home with space to roam and humans that love me, do you think you could give a happy home?

My Profile

  • Age: 4yrs
  • Weight: 50lbs
  • Good with kids: Yes
  • Good with dogs: Yes
  • Good with cats: Yes
  • Fenced yard: Required.
  • Suitable for townhouse and/or apartment: No
  • House trained: Mostly
  • Crate trained: Yes.
  • Barks when left alone: No.
  • Chews inappropriate items: No
  • Training: I already know how to sit for treats, but I'm looking forward to training classes.
  • Activity level: Moderate

Meet Me

If you are interested in Turtle. I’m adopted!, consider letting us know by filling out a (no-obligation) adoption application. Please consult our Adoption FAQ before contacting us.

Please check the adoption-show-attendees page to see if Turtle. I’m adopted! will be attending the next adoption show.

NOTE: We are an all volunteer group and do not operate a shelter. All of our animals are in foster homes. We are unable to place our animals outside of the Baltimore/DC area.