Hi, I'm Shawnee

Domestic Short Hair | Young | Male | Medium

Share  |   Facebooktwitterpinterest

About Me


I’m a shy boy and take a while to come out of my shell.  I am still learning to trust people again, and that I am safe and will always have food and love. It’s been hard for me to learn that I don’t need to scavenge and steal food. My foster mom tells me I’m always going to have food, but it’s hard to remember. I like to be petted for a minute, but get overwhelmed by the attention. When I feel comfortable, I act like a silly kitten chasing after my toys.

Hobbies: playing with toys, sniffing out treats
Favorite Toy: strings and feathers, scratching posts
Favorite Napping Spot: in my little cat bed or on the cat tree


My brother and I lost our home when an infant came to live in our house. We were put outside to fend for ourselves. A few months later, a neighbor saw us digging in a trash can and after talking to our former owner, called the PGSPCA for help. They took us in and we are so happy to be in a warm, safe home again!


I would like a quiet, patient family that will help me learn that I’m always going to be safe and don’t have to be afraid or fight for food. I also get easily overwhelmed and sometimes bite and growl. I promise I don’t bite too hard, and I don’t mean to hurt anyone. I would like to stay with my brother. We don’t always get along, but we’ve always stuck together through the ups and downs of our short lives. I don’t think I want to be without him.

My Profile

  • Age: 1 year
  • Good with other cats: Possibly a calm, friendly one, and with a slow introduction.
  • Suitable for townhouse and/or apartment: Yes

Meet Me

If you are interested in Shawnee, consider letting us know by filling out a (no-obligation) adoption application. Please consult our Adoption FAQ before contacting us.

Please check the adoption-show-attendees page to see if Shawnee will be attending the next adoption show.

NOTE: We are an all volunteer group and do not operate a shelter. All of our animals are in foster homes. We are unable to place our animals outside of the Baltimore/DC area.