Hi, I'm Rose

Whippet Mix | Young | Female | Medium

Share  |   Facebooktwitterpinterest

About Me


Rose is full of enthusiasm for life, and very friendly, even though she had a rough start in life. She was sold on Craigslist by someone who took her from her mama at six weeks old then left her crated for twelve hours at a time. But her rescue-mama has worked with her for almost two years to help her become a well-adjusted dog, and now she’s looking for her forever home.

Rose LOVES people (at least adults – she hasn’t had much exposure to children) and definitely thinks she’s a lap dog. She knows basic cues like sit, down, touch, come, and wait. She walks very nicely on a leash and even sits at every street corner to ask permission to cross. She likes long walks and hikes, she loves playing fetch, and she loves to swim. Equal parts energetic girl and couch potato, she loves her exercise but also calms down well.

Though she would probably prefer a yard, she is used to living in an apartment without one. She is fine with most other dogs but has shown some selective reactivity, and she resource guards her food from other animals, so she should be the only dog in her new home.

Unfortunately, her early puppyhood trauma left her with pretty serious separation anxiety – she is ok being left alone by most people, but when her rescue-mama leaves her alone, she cries and drools a lot. She has made progress and will likely make more with help. (Transition help available.) Rose is looking for a new friend (or, better yet, friends) who work from home or are retired so they would not have to leave her alone a lot. If you have time for her, this sweet, loving, lovable dog will bring you boundless joy!

My Profile

  • Age and weight: I'm turning two years old and weigh 35 pounds
  • Good with kids: I don’t know if I’m good with kids yet.
  • Good with dogs: I'm OK with some dogs, but I'd like to be an only dog
  • Good with cats: Unknown
  • Fenced yard: No
  • Suitable for townhouse and/or apartment: Yes
  • House trained: Yes.
  • Crate trained: I do NOT like crates!
  • Chews inappropriate items: No
  • Training: basic cues like sit, down, touch, come, and wait
  • Activity level: I am quite active, but I also like to sit with you

Meet Me

For more on Rose, text (617) 947-5627