Hi, I'm Queenie. I’m pending

Basenji Mix | Young | Female | Medium

Share  |   Facebooktwittergoogle_pluspinterest

About Me

Queenie has a pending application!

COURTESY POST. Queenie’s owner needs to rehome her. We are helping by spreading the word, but she is not an official PGSPCA adoptable.

Her owner writes:

Queenie is a 3-year-old Basenji mix that I raised while serving in the Peace Corps in Zambia and brought back to America! Unfortunately, due to changes in our family’s life, we no longer have the time to take care of her.

Super sweet, smart, calm, and extremely loyal, Queenie would be a great addition to your family. She is active without being hyperactive: she would be happiest in an outdoorsy/hiker household, with a big fenced backyard and someone to make sure she gets 3 solid walks a day. She loves to chase squirrels, bunnies, and groundhogs, take long naps in the sun, and receive ear rubs.

She is a quiet dog that has only barked three times in her life – you know it’s a special day when she yodels at you! Queenie grew up with a dog best friend but seems to have struggled to learn America doglish: she will be most comfortable in a single pet home. She has received reactive dog training and is now comfortable passing dogs on walks and interacting with calm dogs she meets but will never be a dog park dog.

She is patient with kids but doesn’t seem comfortable with them – she would do best with older kids. While not needy and with no separation anxiety, she does enjoy (and will take every chance) to have time around her humans. She loves car rides because it means adventure time – we have taken her camping (mountains and the beach) and she loves it, tent and all!

She is a little sensitive (thunderstorms aren’t her favorite) and stubborn (she firmly believes that if she waits long enough, the squirrel will come back down), but with patience and confidence she can be won over.  She is crate-trained and knows a few basic commands, but would love to have some more training, both for structure and for mental stimulation! Any additional training would most likely have to be private or small groups to keep her comfortable.

She was my best friend and guardian for the years I lived in Zambia and I hate to part with her but hope she will get all the love and attention she needs in her new home!

My Profile

  • Age and weight: I'm 3 years old and weigh 40 pounds
  • Good with kids: I'm good with older kids, and might even prefer to be in a home with no children
  • Good with dogs: I'm OK greeting other dogs, but I'd like to be an only dog
  • Good with cats: No
  • Fenced yard: Preferred
  • Suitable for townhouse and/or apartment: A townhouse or house would be perfect, as long as there's room for play.
  • House trained: Yes.
  • Crate trained: I'm comfortable in my crate for short periods of time
  • Barks when left alone: No.
  • Chews inappropriate items: I only chew on inappropriate things when I'm bored or lonely.
  • Training: I’m looking forward to taking a training class!
  • Activity level: Moderate

Meet Me

If you are interested in Queenie. I’m pending, consider letting us know by filling out a (no-obligation) adoption application. Please consult our Adoption FAQ before contacting us.

NOTE: We are an all volunteer group and do not operate a shelter. All of our animals are in foster homes. We are unable to place our animals outside of the Baltimore/DC area.

Queenie is a courtesy post and not affiliated with our organization. To learn more about her or arrange to meet her, please email her owner, Erika, at rikkimwandila@gmail.com