Hi, I'm Jackie. I’m adopted!

Lhasa Apso Mix | Adult | Female | Small

Share  |   Facebooktwitterpinterest

About Me

Jackie was adopted May 2024!

Jackie is a super friendly girl that really likes attention but can also settle down quickly after the initial excitement wears down. She has free rein of the home and is non-destructive when left alone (on average about 6-7 hours a day). She lives with 3 other small dogs and gets along well with all of them. I am not sure about cats or kids but I feel like she may be ok with both. She sleeps in my bed at night along with the rest of the dogs! I have not crated her at all.

When Jackie came from the PG shelter, she was missing fur in several areas that is thought to be from allergies. We are currently managing that with Apoquel and medicated baths and it seems to be helping but this may be an ongoing expense. Her coat will require brushing and periodic grooming.

She gets the zoomies a few times a day which only last for a couple of minutes but are hilarious to watch (I would love to see her do an agility course because she is lightning fast!!). I have not seen her play with any toys unless someone throws one for her and then she doesn’t bring it back..lol. She LOVES to look out the window for hours on end and will bark to let us know if she sees anything outside. She usually gets the whole pack barking but quiets down when the “offender” has left her view.

I have not seen any food aggression from her but she will steal food from another dog if it is on the floor. Because of this, I feed her in a closed room. She doesn’t know any commands but is very food motivated so it would probably be easy to train her. She is easily corrected by just telling her no. She is pee pad trained but does potty outside every time she goes out so could probably be easily house-trained.

She walks great on leash and is non-reactive to other dogs or animals. She rides perfectly in the car so would be easy to take on adventures! She would be a great first dog because she is such a go-with-the- flow kinda girl. I think she would fit well in any home.

My Profile

  • Age: I'm about 5 years old
  • Weight: I weigh 9 pounds, but need to put on a bit more weight
  • Good with kids: Unknown
  • Good with dogs: Yes
  • Good with cats: Unknown
  • Fenced yard: Preferred
  • Suitable for townhouse and/or apartment: I could live in a townhouse, but not an apartment
  • House trained: Mostly
  • Crate trained: No
  • Barks when left alone: Not sure.
  • Chews inappropriate items: No
  • Training: Looking forward to training class!
  • Activity level: Medium

Meet Me

If you are interested in Jackie. I’m adopted!, consider letting us know by filling out a (no-obligation) adoption application. Please consult our Adoption FAQ before contacting us.

Please check the adoption-show-attendees page to see if Jackie. I’m adopted! will be attending the next adoption show.

NOTE: We are an all volunteer group and do not operate a shelter. All of our animals are in foster homes. We are unable to place our animals outside of the Baltimore/DC area.