Hi, I'm Chichi. I’m on hold.

Chihuahua | Young | Female | Small

Share  |   Facebooktwitterpinterest

About Me

Due to the large number of applications we have received for Chichi
already, we are not currently accepting new ones until we have a
chance to process the existing ones.

Chichi is a tiny little girl who was found running around the parking lot of a local shelter.  No one knows if she wandered there from a local neighborhood or if someone dumped her there, but either way, no one ever came forward to claim her.  She was petrified in the shelter environment so we took her and moved her to a foster home to see how she would come around.

She has come a long way in her foster home.  She now gets really excited to see people she knows and loves running around the yard.  She will come to you for attention but still gets a bit nervous when you go to pet her.  However, she comes back for more when you stop!  Strangers still make her nervous, so she needs a person who will be her protector and not let strangers come running up to her and will continue to work with her to show her new people are good.  Because of this, she isn’t suitable as an apartment/condo dog.

Chichi has her spurts of energy, but generally isn’t a high energy dog.  She loves curling up on her dog bed and chilling with you if nothing else is going on.  She is pretty much housebroken if you stay out with her and make sure she goes.  Leash-walking still makes her a bit nervous, so she will need a home with a fenced yard.

She was interested but wary of the other resident dogs at first.  Now that she has had some time to settle and get to know them better, she is very interested and even starting to try to play with them.  They are a bit bigger than she is, but still in the small/medium range.  It is unknown how she would do with a much larger dog.

Her ideal home would be a quiet one where she could just hang out with her people.  Could it be yours?

My Profile

  • Age and weight: I'm 2 years old and weigh 10 pounds
  • Good with kids: I’m good with kids over 12 years old.
  • Good with dogs: Yes
  • Good with cats: Unsure
  • Fenced yard: Required.
  • Suitable for townhouse and/or apartment: I could live in a townhouse, but not an apartment.
  • House trained: Mostly
  • Crate trained: Yes.
  • Barks when left alone: No.
  • Chews inappropriate items: No
  • Training: Minimal
  • Activity level: Laid back
  • I need an experienced adopter.

Meet Me

If you are interested in Chichi. I’m on hold., consider letting us know by filling out a (no-obligation) adoption application. Please consult our Adoption FAQ before contacting us.

Please check the adoption-show-attendees page to see if Chichi. I’m on hold. will be attending the next adoption show.

NOTE: We are an all volunteer group and do not operate a shelter. All of our animals are in foster homes. We are unable to place our animals outside of the Baltimore/DC area.