Hi, I'm Charlie Bear

Border Collie Mix | Adult | Male | Large

Share  |   Facebooktwitterpinterest

About Me

My name is Charlie Bear and I am a full-on ladies’ man! I am an older gentleman who loves to snuggle and relax with a loving owner. My life was a bit rough previously, so I tend to be very shy and nervous when I meet new people. But if you give me a few days, I’ll warm up to you and become your very own furry shadow! I am a sweet boy who barks only occasionally and wants nothing more than a quiet, loving home.

After a day together, I became my foster mom’s shadow and snuggle-bug on the couch. Whether she sits on the floor or the couch, I immediately curl up next to her. When she is working at her desk, I nap on the floor right next to her. When she gets up to walk around, I follow her and keep a close eye on her. We enjoy walks around the backyard to stretch our legs and enjoy the outside smells!

I am more nervous with men than women (hence, being a ladies’ man). After two weeks, I am still very shy with my foster dad. But I am slowly warming up to him. I will walk up to him sometimes, sniff him, and let him scratch my head. If he has my favorite treats, I may even put my head on his lap! But sometimes my shyness takes over and I will walk away from him if he approaches me. Though he sneaks up on me when I am napping on the couch and will just sit next to me to scratch my belly and head. This is helping me to warm up to him even more!

I am a laid back boy who loves to sleep and snuggle, but that doesn’t mean I can’t be active sometimes. We go for family walks around the neighborhood and I love to smell EVERYTHING! I also enjoy soft squeaky toys (sometimes just to carry around and sometimes to chew on). Recently, I’ve even begun playing with my foster doggy brother! We chase each other or a soccer ball and we have even started to play-wrestle outside!

In short, I am a shy-but-loving dog looking for a wonderful home with an easy-going family! Can you imagine me as your cuddle-buddy? I sure can!

My Profile

  • Age: 6 or 7 years
  • Weight: 60 lbs
  • Good with kids: Not sure.
  • Good with dogs: Yes
  • Good with cats: Unsure
  • Fenced yard: Preferred
  • Suitable for townhouse and/or apartment: I could live in a townhouse, but not an apartment.
  • House trained: Yes.
  • Crate trained: Yes.
  • Barks when left alone: No.
  • Chews inappropriate items: No
  • Training: Work in progress
  • Activity level: Laid back

Meet Me

If you are interested in Charlie Bear, consider letting us know by filling out a (no-obligation) adoption application. Please consult our Adoption FAQ before contacting us.

Please check the adoption-show-attendees page to see if Charlie Bear will be attending the next adoption show.

NOTE: We are an all volunteer group and do not operate a shelter. All of our animals are in foster homes. We are unable to place our animals outside of the Baltimore/DC area.