Hi, We're Apache and Shawnee

Domestic Short Hair | Young | Male | Medium

Share  |   Facebooktwitterpinterest

About Us

APACHE’S PERSONALITY

I love attention and playing with toys. I’m very curious and like to explore. I’ve learned to wait patiently for food and treats, but sometimes I get excited for human food and try to steal. I like to be near my people all the time. I come often to get pets, but I’m very busy, so can only be held and cuddled for a minute! If I’m not too busy, I’ll come running when you call my name. My foster mom tells me I’m a sweet, silly boy. I like to talk too, especially when I think you might feed me. I’ll literally sing for my supper! 

Hobbies: chasing toys
Favorite Toy: feathers on strings, plastic springs
Favorite Napping Spot: curled up next to my foster mom or with my brother.

SHAWNEE’S PERSONALITY

I’m a little shy and take a while to come out of my shell.  I don’t often seek attention, but like to be petted. I get overwhelmed by attention though, so only want to be petted for a few minutes. My foster mom calls me a chunky monkey now, but we agree it’s better than being skinny and scavenging for food. When I feel comfortable, I act like a silly kitten chasing after my toys. My favorite game is “hiding” under or behind something and jumping out when you walk by, and then running away as fast as I can. It’s super fun! I also really like trying to catch water coming out from the faucet. I haven’t been entirely successful yet, but I practice every chance I get!

Hobbies: playing with toys, pretending I’m an attack cat
Favorite Toy: strings, cat tunnels, scratching posts
Favorite Napping Spot: in my cat bed or an empty box

HOW WE CAME TO THE PGSPCA

We lost our home when an infant came to live in our house. We were put outside to fend for ourselves. A few months later, a neighbor saw us digging in a trash can and after talking to our former owner, called the PGSPCA for help. They took us in and we are so happy to be in a warm, safe home again!

DREAM FAMILY

Apache says, I would like a family that will play with me a lot and be patient with me as I adjust to a new place. I’d need to stay with my brother, Shawnee. We fight sometimes, but he’s been with me my whole life, even when we had to live outside, and I don’t know what I’d do without him.  I have a lot of energy and curiosity, and would like a home where I can run around and explore. Also, please make sure there’s always space for me to sleep next to you.

Shawnee says, I would like a quiet, patient family that respects my space and understands that I might need time to adjust. I need to stay with my brother. We fight sometimes, but we’ve always stuck together and I don’t know what I’d do without him. I hope my family has lots of toys and things for me to hide in so I can play hide ‘n seek.

 

Our Profiles

  • Ages: 2 years
  • Good with kids: never met kids, but will probably like older kids.
  • Good with dogs: No
  • Good with other cats: love my siblings!
  • Suitable for townhouse and/or apartment: could live in a townhouse, but not an apartment.
  • Activity level: active and enjoy interactive play

Meet Us

If you are interested in Apache and Shawnee, consider letting us know by filling out a (no-obligation) adoption application. Please consult our Adoption FAQ before contacting us.

Please check the adoption-show-attendees page to see if Apache and Shawnee will be attending the next adoption show.

NOTE: We are an all volunteer group and do not operate a shelter. All of our animals are in foster homes. We are unable to place our animals outside of the Baltimore/DC area.